Question - upgrading from Windows XP to Windows 7

Several folks associated with 800Aux have decent experience with computers and their problems. Try leaving your questions or answers here, and help each other out.
Tamianth

Post by Tamianth » Mon Apr 20, 2015 8:38 pm

by not Michael on Sat Mar 29, 2014 7:20 pm

I have a computer question and you folks are the most computer-savvy people I know. I am not a computer professional. For me a computer is an essential tool and a cool toy. But when it comes to the inner workings of a computer, I don’t have a clue.

I’m using XP, and that becomes a security nightmare very soon. I found a Microsoft site where you can upgrade to Windows 7. But the instructions say you need an external hard drive to save your files so you can transfer them to 7. I’m using Office 07, but I don’t know where the installation CDs are.

The only odd programs I on my computer are Picasa for photo processing and Kaye Program for running a data logger I use at work. If they don’t transfer I can download them again from the websites.

My computer was made-to-order by a local computer repair firm. That happened when my older computer was no longer large enough to run XP and Microsoft was pushing Vista.

I have run Windows 7 Compatibilty Advisor. It says my computer is fine for Windows 7, but I might have a problem with my printer. The printer is 13 years old. Its probably time for a new one. That’s not a problem.

Now for my question.
I don’t have very many files to transfer – only 240 MB. I have an empty USB drive that holds 480 MB. Do I really have to go buy an external hard drive to make the upgrade? Or can I copy my files to my USB drive instead? Is there anything else in installing and running Windows 7 I need that external hard drive for?

Thanks,
0 x
Ahr'lhonaema ihirer hotaessraei hwiunaier iarr'voi ortaihkhevha na sienov!
It is cowardice to be reluctant to take up the sword for a just cause!

Tamianth